Trainings 2016

Tuesday December 6, 2016 @ 12:30 - 3:30 pm Meet at Museum Entrance
Highlights Tour training at Museum, shuttle bus to SH, SH training.  Docent social at SH/shuttle back to Museum (RSVP TO JAN)
Information about routes and artwork under Adult Tour-->Highlights or click here.
2016
Thursday November 17, 2016 @ 09:00 am - 10:00 am in Gall 26
Walk through of Islamic gallery reopening with Curator Shawn Eichman

Thursday November 10, 2016 @ 10:00 am - 11:00 am in Gall 22
Public Walk through of Karen Hampton: The Journey North with Artist Karen Hampton

Monday November 7, 2016 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm @ Spalding House
Natural Selection tour training with Curriculum Specialist Georgia McKenzie (2nd half) and Walk Through of HoMA SELECT with Director Aaron Padilla (1st half)

Tuesday November 1, 2016 @ 09:00 am - 10:00 am in Gall 28
Yun Fei Ji: The Intimate Universe walk thru with Artist Yun Fei Ji

Monday October 24, 2016 @ 10:00 am - 11:00 am in Lecture Hall & Gall 22
Early America tour training for Gall 22 rotation:  Karen Hampton with Aaron Padilla and Georgia McKenzie

Thursday October 27, 2016 @ 4:30 pm in Doris Duke Theatre
Curator Paul Schimmel Lecture on Lee Bontecou: Destroy the Picture/Painting

Friday September 30, 2016 @ 09:00 am - 10:00 am in Gall 28
Walk through of Yun-Fei Ji with Curator Shawn Eichman

Thursday September 29, 2016 @ 09:00 am - 10:00 am in Gall 29A
Walk through of Charles Furneaux and the Sublime with Curator Healoha Johnston

Monday September 19, 2016 @ 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm @ Spalding House
Tour brainstorming with docents for Natural Selection tour. Draft of docent guide under School Tour Information.\

Monday September 12, 2016 @ noon in the Cafe
Docent Potluck with Pin Awards and DOT Graduation

Tuesday September 6, 2016 @ 09:00 am - 10:00 am in Gall 14
Walk through of Gothic Angels with Curator Stephen Salel

Thursday July 14, 2016 @ 8:30am - 10:00am in Lecture Hall (and afterwards in galleries)
Conservation Talk with Larry Pace, Seth Irwin, Thor Minnick and Linda Hee (wood,paper, textiles, paintings)

Monday July 18th, 2016 @ 9 AM in Lecture Hall 
Encounters: Creative Writing tour with Christine Park and Tour Management Skills with Georgia McKenzie

Wednesday June 1, 2016 @ 11:00 AM @ Waialae Country Club Note: This is a change of date from May to June

Thursday May 26, 2016 @ 9 AM in Gallery 22
Walk through of No Sweat! by Textile Curator Sara Oka

Friday May 27, 2016 @ 1 pm in Gallery 29 B
Artist walk through of Paul Pfeiffer: Caryatids

Thursday May 5, 2016 @ 9:00 AM @ Gallery 28
Walk through of Art in a Time of Chaos: Masterworks from Six Dynasties China, 3rd–6th Centuries with Curator Shawn Eichman

Thursday April 14, 2016 @ 9:00 AM @ Gallery 14
Walk through of Zen Landscapes with Curator Shawn Eichman

Wednesday April 20, 2016 @ 9:00 AM @ Lecture Hall
Lecture in preparation for Art in the Time of Chaos with UH Professor of Chinese Art History Kate Lingley - this will be a great overview of Chinese art of this period! 

Thursday March 17, 2016 @ 9:30-11 AM in Gallery 29
Walk through with Healoha Johnston and the designers on Hubert Vos: Class, Culture, and Curios and Hawaii in Design

Thursday March 24, 2016 @ 10 AM in Gallery 9 & 10
Walk through with Theresa Papanikolas for Conceptual Art 101: Marcel Duchamp’s Boîte-en-Valise and Richard Tuttle: Loose Leaf Notebook Drawings

Thursday March 3, 2016 @ 1 PM in the Lecture Hall
Docent Board Meeting

Thursday March 3, 2016 @ 3:30 PM in the Cafe
Aloha Reception for Stephan - Potluck Pupus

Friday February 19, 2016  @ 9:00- 11:00 AM @ Gallery 12,11,25
Tour training Pacific Voyages

Thursday January 14, 2106 @ Lecture Hall @ 1:00 pm
Docent Board Meeting 

Thursday January 28, 2016 @ 9 am in Gallery 29
Deb Nehmad walk through

Friday January 29, 2016 @ 1 PM  in the Lecture Hall
Lecture in preparation for Plastic Fantastic: Mark Manuel, Pacific Islands Marine Debris Regional Coordinator, NOS/Office for Coastal Management (NOAA affiliate

Monday February 8, 2016  @ 10:00 AM @ SH
Plastic Fantastic? Walk through and Potluck
Meet the new DOTS 2016!!!!

Tuesday February 9, 2016  @ 1:00 PM @ Lecture Hall
Overview of Ukiyo-e with Stephan Salel

Thursday February 11, 2016  @ 9:00- 11:00 AM @ Gallery 29
Walk through with Stephan Salel in Hiroshige’s City: From Edo to Tokyo
Comments